Reading Makes Us Better People?

I feel like I’ve kind of said this before. In talking about the purpose of education. In defining and defending genres like science fiction and fantasy from discrimination. But today my dad sent around an article that does a better job than I have in explaining just how much reading can affect you, can change you – for the better.

Readers, like voicemail leavers and card writers, are now a dying breed, their numbers decreasing with every GIF list and online tabloid.

The worst part about this looming extinction is that readers are proven to be nicer and smarter than the average human, and maybe the only people worth falling in love with on this shallow hell on earth…

Because reading is something that molds you and adds to your character. Each triumph, lesson and pivotal moment of the protagonist becomes your own.

Well okay then! You can read the whole article here: http://elitedaily.com/life/culture/date-reader-readers-best-people-fall-love-scientifically-proven/662017/

I had been trying to figure out whether to join Holly in her goal of reading a book and a comic a month. The comics I have been doing, but the books… the blog, and the LitFlix, and comics, and time in general, have kept me from reading much of anything in a while. I think I’m feeling those effects. So I need to – I need books. 

So if you care to read along or expect what I’m reading, it’s The Incal right now. I’m a slower reader than Holly, but I can try for a book a month. I have a number to choose between, but I think I will read Among Others by Jo Walton. Science Fiction? Fantasy? Hugo and Nebula Award Winning? Wales? Yes to all of these things.

This also nails the coffin in a few of the LitFlix plans – I am pretty sure that Hercules and TMNT will both have to wait until they’re available to rent, along with a couple I’m not sure if we’ll even see here in theaters – The Scribbler and Snow Piercer. Because for now – I have books to read!

14 responses to “Reading Makes Us Better People?

  1. Snowpiercer is brilliant, we managed to see it at home though, if you know what I mean 😉 I totally agree with your assessment of readers as being better people. It does shape character, intelligence and personality, it makes people far more compassionate I would say too, when you read about how other people live/have lived in the past.

    Like

  2. I’m a reader deeply invoke with a non-reader…so I guess a few of them are OK – but he might be the exception!
    Enjoy the book, but don’t miss Snow Piercer! I hear incredible things about it.

    Like

  3. I’ve been catching up with reading for the past weeks (though I have been doing better to read more again for the past couple of years) since I am unable to watch any TV show or movie for the time being (long story). Besides some personal development books, I have been busy putting a dent in my to-read shelf. I mostly read Star Wars and Buffy novels lately, but I still have more Star Wars, Dragon Age, Witcher novels, along with some of Philippa Ballantine’s Book of the Order series, Ender’s Game, Mistborn trilogy and I feel like I’m forgetting a few others.

    Like

  4. Looking forward to your thoughts on Incal. Local theater is showing all of Jodorowsky’s movies but packing, packing forever here at home.

    Like

  5. Pingback: 2 Year Anniversary of Comparative Geeks! | Comparative Geeks

  6. Pingback: Forcing versus Fostering: Engaging Our Kids | Comparative Geeks

Don't Feed the Trolls....

