WordPress Family Award and the Very Inspiring Blogger Award

If you’ve given us awards and feel that we’ve utterly forgotten them, fret not! We’re just ridiculously behind in accepting them. One of the main reasons is a feeling that you need to put a lot of thought and work into figuring out who to nominate, facts about yourself, all these other bits. Then there’s notifying everyone, which can be a whole bunch of work…

WordPress Family Award

Well, earlier this year we were hit with a double-whammy of awards from Part-Time Monster, where they combined two awards into one set of nominations. We see no reason not to do the same, especially as these two awards go together really well. One is the WordPress Family Award, and the other is the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. This year we have connected with a lot more bloggers, through connecting with Part-Time Monster and others, as well as through the A-to-Z Challenge.

very inspiring blogger award

So the rules on these awards were presented as simple: nominate 15 other blogs and let them know. I am going to be linking to each of their About pages, so these pingbacks are counting as my notifications… And really, I’m not caring if you’ve gotten one of the other before. This is about us listing the folks who make up our WordPress family. Thank you all for a great year of blogging, and hope you are all looking forward to a great new year like we are!

The Nominations

Yeah, I’m a librarian. I alphabetized by blog name. It happens.

  1. John Mark Miller over at The Artistic Christian
  2. Alex over at Cirsova
  3. Gretchen Kelly over at Drifting Through My Open Mind
  4. Patrick Sponaugle over at I Can’t Possibly Be Wrong All The Time
  5. Leah over at The Lobster Dance
  6. The folks over at Nerd in the Brain
  7. Sheena over at Not A Punk Rocker
  8. Ashley Hagood over at RoboHeartBeat
  9. Natacha Guyot over at Science Fiction, Transmedia & Fandom
  10. Gene’O and the folks (like Jeremy and Will!) over on Sourcerer
  11. The Gotham Rogue over at The Speech Bubble
  12. Swanpride over at Honoring the Heroines
  13. The folks at Therefore I Geek
  14. Hannah Givens over at Things Matter
  15. Kelly Konda and all over at We Minored in Film

If you’d like more info about us, or to see more of our nominations and recommended blogs, we include our awards on our First Time Here page.

Special Thanks To…

I also want to take a moment to thank our guest bloggers this year:

Thank you all for helping us keep going, often helping us take vacations and keep the blog going! And keep your eyes peeled, we have one more guest post to go this year… Gene’O on The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies!

Big plans and big news coming in the new year. We’re still going strong – thanks to all the bloggers and friends supporting us!

26 responses to “WordPress Family Award and the Very Inspiring Blogger Award

  1. Thanks very much 🙂 Awesome blogs here, and I think I know all but a couple of them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I figured you might, but glad to know there are still new blogs for you to find!

      Liked by 1 person

      • There are three here I do not know. They’ll be getting good looks from me.

        Also, I may actually do one more Award Post at sourcerer just to give people links to more friends and introduce some fairly new ones.

        It occurs to me that award posts might be a good way to map a network of friendly bloggers and figure out who knows who. 🙂

        Like

        • I think it is definitely a way to map who-knows-who, as well as perhaps some genre/topic connections. I know you’ve been trying to find geeks on Twitter, which has proven hard. Connecting them through awards nominations may be much easier!

          Liked by 1 person

          • I agree. Mapping who knows who is really the only value of awards posts for me at this point. It was different a year ago.

            A year ago, the pings guaranteed me 15 extra visitors on the day the post published, and the awards were good for starting conversations with people I hoped to make friends with.

            Now pinging 15 bloggers with something like an award post is a waste of ammo, because I can’t do it too often and I need my pings to alert people to things like the Feminist Friday and A to Z developments.

            And I have more friends than I know what to do with 🙂

            Life is good, all of a sudden.

            I will look at those ones I don’t know, though. Follow their social media and add them to appropriate lists, and such.

            Like

  2. Thank you very much!! Amazing known blogs and new ones to discover! 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee . . . . . . (I Survived Another Year! Edition) | Just Gene'O

  4. Thank you! 😀

    Like

  5. I haven’t seen the Family award before. What are the qualifications?

    Like

    • As far as I know, all it is is being nominated. The spirit of the award is about WordPress being such a great and helpful community of fellow bloggers, and in that spirit we tried to nominate a lot of the folks who interact with us and our posts the most!

      Like

      • Yes, I understand that part– as I have given and received other awards. But what do users consider to give this award in particular? Is it for posts that are family-oriented? Is it for posts that reflect “family” in a more broad sense, such as a WP “family”, i.e. community? Or is it all the above?

        I don’t ask rhetorically; I’m honestly wondering what motivates users to bestow such an award.

        Like

        • As to ourselves and the folks who nominated us, it is about WP community. But I definitely see your point- family-friendly would make a lot of sense for this award as well! I won’t guarantee that one for all the nominees…

          I went through several months of archives to consider folks doing some of the most liking and commenting on our posts, as well as considering social media interaction. That’s where this list came from!

          Like

  6. Thanks so much for your nomination! I hadn’t heard of the WordPress Family Award, but was thrilled to receive it…I hope you all have a blessed weekend, and I’ll get to work on my acceptance post soon!

    Like

  7. Thanks a lot for the shout out!

    Like

  8. Thank you! Here’s to a geeky 2015!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Thanks to My Blogging Family! | The Artistic Christian

  10. Thank you very much! It’s nice to be included with such illustrious company. 🙂

    Like

  11. Pingback: 2 Year Anniversary of Comparative Geeks! | Comparative Geeks

  12. Pingback: WordPress Family Award and the Very Inspiring Blogger Award | Natacha Guyot

Don't Feed the Trolls....

