Reaction – Season 6 Game of Thrones

GoT_season_6_official_posterI think my short reaction to the latest season of Game of Thrones is just OH MY GOSH!! This season just blew me away. After season 5 I was slightly disappointed in the series as a whole. They had done some good things, but in season 5 the show just felt a little lost. This season they really took the show and the story to the next level.

Now a couple of my favorite things about this season has been the women in power, and the reveal of some great fan theories. The female characters in this season have owned every episode that they have been in and it has been fantastic.

I think the big issue I have with this season is that they threw out any concept of time continuity and everything happened at the speed of plot. Now this kept the pace really exciting and with a limited number of episodes left in the series it really helped move the story forward, but there were definitely some ridiculous moments as a result. At the same time I am super excited to see where they take this story in the next couple of seasons! (Spoilers for Game of Thrones for season 6 after the jump.)

Women Power

So many of the women stepped up their game this season it is almost difficult to decide which moment was the best! I think my absolute favorite thing was finally seeing Sansa Stark come in to her own. I hate what they put her through to get there, but I love that she came out of the other end still standing. I think my big hope for her is that they do not allow Littlefinger to play her anymore or use her because there is no forgiveness for him leaving her with Ramsey Bolton. I have also really loved that she admitted her wrongs to how she treated Jon Snow when they were growing up together. She has shown some of the most growth in the entire series from my perspective.

Now one of the other big moments definitely has to be Dany and her dragons. I mean I think this is the moment that we have been waiting for season the first episode of the show and it does not disappoint. We finally get to see what it means to be the Mother of Dragons being faced with opposition and it basically ends up being Dragons Beat Armada. There were a lot of other moments and characters that fit in to this character, but basically the women ruled the roost on Game of Thrones.

Also, there's this girl...

Also, there’s this girl…

Fan Theories

As a fan of the books one of the exciting things from this year has been the reveal of a few fan theories, as least in the show. Now I understand that the books could end up being different, but it is still exciting to see these stories with these fan theories being true. One of the smaller fan theories that got confirmed is the identity of Cold Hands. In the books we never really see Cold Hands’ face, but there is a thought that it is Benjen Stark. Part of this theory happened because Benjen got sent out scouting beyond the wall and we have not run in to him again (not even a body), but it makes the character so poignant to be Benjen.

The other, much larger fan theory, is the fact that Jon Snow is not Ned Stark’s bastard, but the child of Rhaegar and Lyanna; meaning that the blood of dragons runs through his veins! The big thing about this fan theory is the fact that this further opens up the possibility of Jon Snow potentially ending up being one of the dragon riders. The certain thing is that Jon’s part is not yet done.

Speed of Plot

The catch phrase of this season definitely has to be travel at the speed of plot. This season definitely felt like a race to the finish line and with that it meant that the timing for how things happened definitely seemed to be more tied to the plot then anything else. The writers need certain things to happen at certain times in order to keep the plot moving forward at the pace it has been this season. The problem is it ignores the whole concept of travel time. Two people traveling the same distance and one it seems to take weeks and the other it is like a weekend drive. I know that the actual travel is not the interesting piece of the story, but it seems that there should still be a sense that the distances would take about the same amount of time.

I think the end of the season was really the most egregious of all of them because Varys goes from Meeren to Dorne and back to Meeren in like the blink of an eye, which just seems incredibly impractical. Then there is Arya who makes it from Braavos to the Twins in like a day, which is also ridiculous. It makes for some great shocking moments, but then you look back and it just does not make much sense.

Varys in Dorne

All-in-all this season of Game of Thrones was absolutely fantastic and I am excited to see what is in store for the remaining episodes in the series.

3 responses to “Reaction – Season 6 Game of Thrones

  1. I cannot get the theme song out of my head ever since I finished watching it. The show is KILLING it right now, and I love that the woman are so badass. We need to see more of that on television. Great review, are you currently sharing your writing on any other platforms?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the comment. I am not writing anywhere else right now. Finding the time is not always easy.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I get what you mean. I love to write too but inspiration is sometimes hard to find, not to mention time. Well hey, if you’re looking for an additional platform to share your work, I’d love to help you get your work seen on Moviepilot/Creators. Let me know if you’d be up for that, simply shoot me an e-mail. You can find my contact details on my blog.

        Like

Don't Feed the Trolls....

