Sims 4 Get to Work Review

I’ve held off on writing a review of the Sims 4 expansion Get to Work for a few reasons. I needed to give myself some time to really try out all of the features, and also time to decide whether I hated it, loved it, or was really “meh” with it.

I’ve talked about it before, but one of the main reasons I like The Sims is for use as brainstorming for writing. So when I saw that I could actually simulate being a detective in Get to Work, I got excited since I’ve been working on a mystery.

As far as added features go, besides adding additional character creator pieces-parts and household items, the expansion adds extra jobs and the ability to own a business. The three professions are Detective, Doctor, and Scientist, and the businesses you can run are retail-oriented, so that you can sell goods that your Sim creates.

The Good

I was really impressed by the way the professions are handled. Normally in the Sims, jobs function as “rabbit holes” that you send your Sim to for a few hours and don’t have much control over their actions while there, except telling them to do things like work harder, socialize with co-workers, or slack off. In the Sims 3 Ambitions, you could have a profession but they were very different from other jobs and included Firefighter, Stylist, Private Investigator, and Architect. While very unimpressed by the way those professions were handled in the previous game, I was impressed by the profession game play in Get to Work. While I wasn’t initially interested in playing as a Doctor or Scientist, I tried them both out and actually had more fun doing that than playing as a Detective.

Owning a retail store was much more satisfying in this expansion than in previous ones, like Sims 2 Open for Business. I actually created what was essentially a bakery and sold all of the baked goods my Sim was making. It was not only fun it was a pretty successful business model, and easy to do. The set up for businesses was far more stream lined than anything they’ve tried before.

The game also adds in Aliens, a staple in previous Sims games. You can be abducted, meet Aliens disguised as normal Sims, play as Aliens, and even at the top of the Scientist career explore a new Alien world. Honestly the Alien world was fun, it has some plants and items that can’t be found anywhere else and the landscape is incredibly cool. Partying with the Aliens was a fun work event.

The Meh

Sure, the game added some fun additions. But only three professions and the ability to open a business and that’s… essentially it. They didn’t add any aspirations relating to any of the new content, so you can’t set up Sims who want to be a successful business owner or doctor. There were also no additional traits, so you can’t have a savvy business Sim or a Sim with a keen eye for detective work. For an expansion pack, it felt definitely lacking in some major things that I would look for to beef up the base game. The additions feel major and yet aren’t. The professions are fun to get through but then become monotonous in their routine once you reach the top. And surprisingly to me, the Detective career was the least enjoyable of all of them.

All in all, it’s a good addition to the Sims 4, but it’s not what it could have been. I’d have to say 3/5 for this one.

Don't Feed the Trolls....

