First World Relationship Problems

P and I are on vacation, so this will be short and sweet, and hopefully funny and relatable.

We’ve been hanging out with a lot of our friends back home this week, and I keep hearing about the same relationship problem from all of our friends. It’s one that I’ve experienced with P as well, and I’m sure it’s one that has plagued many a reader of this blog.

That is, getting hooked on the same Netflix shows.

At first, this seems like more of a blessing than a curse. It’s always better when both partners want to sit and watch the same show. Who doesn’t want their significant other to be as excited as they are about spending a Friday night bingeing Doctor Who or Firefly on Netflix?

It only becomes a problem when you have different schedules, or start watching a show solo that your S.O. happens to watch with you one night, and suddenly you can’t keep watching without them because they’re hooked too. P and I ran into this problem a lot the past six months when he had a hectic schedule and I was home by myself a lot. I originally started watching Arrow on my own, and suddenly he watched a few episodes and it became “our” show and not “my” show.

I started trying to watch shows I figured he wouldn’t be into (Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries, for example) but lo and behold he’d get roped into them too and again I’d find myself unable to watch them when he wasn’t home with me. I’ve heard the same from other friends, including one who started trying to watch Gilmore Girls and her S.O. got into it too, and sure enough she couldn’t watch it solo anymore.

As far as problems in a relationship go, it’s definitely the best one to have. I found it hilarious that I heard so many stories of this issue this week while hanging out with girlfriends. We all started to swap ideas for shows we could watch without our S.O. to try to find ways around it. As P tells me though, I pick awesome TV shows, so it’s probably a problem that will continue.

Any suggestions on shows to try to watch when your S.O. isn’t home? Or better yet, more suggestions of shows to watch together?
3 responses to “First World Relationship Problems

  1. Holly and I 100% have this problem. Sorry, let me put that differently: I 100% cause Holly this problem… I tend to turn to video games and movies in the solo situations where she turns to a TV show on disc or streaming instead. But I sometimes have to be careful which movies to watch… ones we have bought but haven’t watched together yet are dicey territory πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is why I don’t have a SO, that way I don’t have to share my tv viewing?
    Uhm.. hmm… Nah, last relationship I was in he didn’t really get into the show-watching thing so I was safe πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Haha, I just got mad at my husband because he started Buffy without me. Then he reminded me how many episodes of Downton Abbey I have on the DVR. He likes to stream stuff on the computer while working during the day, and I like to watch on the TV in the evenings, so he’s right, we each need some solo-watch stuff.

    Liked by 2 people

Don't Feed the Trolls....

