After-Action Report – First Steamroller Tournament!

This last weekend, we had our first tournament for our small little Warmachine and Hordes community. My friend who got us all started has become a Press Ganger with Privateer Press, the company who makes the game, so we can have official tournaments with official company support. Very awesome!

Which makes our little tournament particularly great, as it looks to be the first of many. We had six people, which was a great starting point, and meant plenty of good games for all. Everyone had really strong army lists and pairings and it made for some tough decisions and play, and some really unexpected game results. Ones that seemed like sure things definitely were not! The most brutal was the last game done, which had maybe a handful of models left out of what was probably 70+ at the beginning. Three rounds, solid play, a lot of fun.

More things died after I took this picture.

I had three good games… well, okay, three good opponents. I kind of failed. Didn’t get much practice in in advance and haven’t played much in general since our Journeyman League started, whereas everyone else got in more games than me. I’ve fallen behind probably on the experience-with-the-game curve! And it showed, as I forgot my own rules and plans and just generally crumbled. My last round opponent was gracious and let me take back a move a few moments late, and I was able to win it then – so it’s still possible I found, I just need to, you know, know what I’m doing. I was most afraid of losing on chess clock, too, so I was probably playing too fast.

Turns out, harpooning in the enemy leader is a good strategy.

All-in-all, great experience, and I am really looking forward to future tournaments and more opponents. We’re also moving ahead to more points – we were playing the lower 35-point threshold, which gets you a good sized army (and is the point that you reach by the end of the Journeyman League), but the game is built and balanced around the 50-point army. I may be trying to find out just how many robots I can cram into 50 points…

Thanks to the organizer, thanks to my opponents, thanks to you for reading this far. The championship game was the organizer (who won two games he was expecting to lose) versus someone who thought they were going to lose all three games, so it was a ton of fun to see. We were all rooting for the organizer to lose… So I think I have to sign off with our new slogan, “Team Menoth!”

2 responses to “After-Action Report – First Steamroller Tournament!

  1. Pingback: Weekend Coffee Share – Screen Time Edition | Comparative Geeks

  2. Pingback: Hordes and the Trollololos | Comparative Geeks

Don't Feed the Trolls....

