Weekend Coffee Share – Presidential Edition

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that we’ve spent most of the week sick. This has made everything take longer, like blog posts, or ya know, life. #SickGate

[tweet https://twitter.com/compgeeksdavid/status/642171514339508224]

But that means, not your standard sort of coffee post this week. Instead of talking about us, let’s talk the world a bit more.


If we were having coffee, I would tell you I saw something ridiculous this week in the news. John McAfee is running for president.

This told me a lot of things. First, it told me there’s a person with the name McAfee responsible for the antivirus software. Second, it explains a lot about the antivirus that acts like a virus to me: it’s about building up name recognition, so he could run for president one day. The antivirus that tries to sneak onto your computer along with other software downloads, and that is almost impossible to remove? Yeah, we know which one that is.

Third, it tells me that people with no chance of actually winning are running for president. Because of the reasons given above about his software…

And fourth, it tells me that it’s just a year for running if you have issues to talk about.


If we were having coffee, I would mention that I was a political science minor in college. Well, more political theory. Which has made this a fascinating year so far for me to watch.

I would mention that we don’t talk politics much on Comparative Geeks (or our Facebooks, for that matter). We like to approach these issues from non-standard angles, instead. Like our Science Fiction Today posts – today’s issues through the lens of tomorrow. Indeed, Science Fiction Today was my original idea for a blog.

But next year’s presidential election is just too soon for a science fiction sort of approach. Um… Woman President? Laura Roslin and Battlestar Galactica? Yeah, that’s what I’ve got.

I’m sure we’ll hear lines about how we’re at “the point in history” when a woman president is inevitable. Well, maybe. When as many men as have come out to oppose her, well… what it means for one thing that the opposition is going to splinter, making her win almost inevitable. Especially if one runs outside of a party – someone like Trump? He does seem to almost be actively working towards something like a Hillary presidency…


Given enough cofee, I could rule the world!

If we were having coffee, I would say that all of the stuff about an election 14 months out is pure speculation. There are other things to talk about at this point.

Because if it’s a year for issues, for running to talk about things (if the results really seem so inevitable?), then I have a couple of questions for you, my coffee friend.

First, what if a blogger ran for president? Someone who was all over social media, and had multiple ways you could contact them. Ways you could talk to and debate them. Engage with them. Ways that you could get to know a presidential candidate.

Second, would you write-in vote for a blogger candidate? Or would they need to legitimately be on the ticket?

Third, what would you want to see in a blogger candidate? I’ll leave that open-ended for your input.

And fourth, would you contribute at all to a blogger’s campaign?

I am really interested in everyone’s thoughts, so let me know in the comments below! I leave this open as a discussion to our overseas friends as well – I’d be interested in your input, either on the US side or in your own country! And don’t forget the linkup over on Part-Time Monster!

22 responses to “Weekend Coffee Share – Presidential Edition

  1. aisnotforyoutoknow

    I mean, I think it all depends on where the blogger stands on issues and what they plan to do about or with them. I, personally, would LOVE to have that sort of “sit down, lets talk” sort of situation an online connection would bring, but if that candidate got any sort of substantial support behind them, we all know that it is not feasible to keep up with all of that contact by oneself. So I think its reasonable to say that the “sit down, lets talk” opportunity would quickly become a “sit down and talk to one of my many helpful representatives.” BUT, as far as if I would I would write-in, fund (as much as my extremely small bank account would allow), or, in the end, actually vote for a blogger, the answer is two-fold: yes, IF I think they would be the most beneficial choice for the country. As far as what I would like to see in a blogger candidate? Let’s just say that if Bernie Sanders had been a candidate whose campaign was completely online, I would still vote for him.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thoughtful answer – why thank you! It’s a good point that being available to talk issues with you – and agreeing with you completely – would not be a very supportable candidate. That’s fair.

      And yes, large enough and you lose the direct contact. In some ways, it would be awesome to see something like this get large enough that minions responding is a thing that happens.

      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • aisnotforyoutoknow

        I would be completely unheard of! (And I mean that in the best of ways!) And I think if it did happen, it would start a trend towards better use of our technology to accomplish candidate goals. Thanks for presenting such a unique idea! And feel free to check out my blog! Vinyl Intuition. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. If there was a blogger that could get Donald Trump to shut up, then I would do whatever I could to support them. 🙂 How long until Captain Janeway can run? Maybe when she’s finished with Orange is the New Black?! I’d vote for Capt. Janeway/Red.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Firstly, hope you’re all feeling better. Secondly, I think with all the jokers running, it would be good to have a blogger put him/herself forward. Maybe we should try this out on our side of the pond as we have pretty dire choices of leaders too!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Interesting thoughts. Yes, we are only 14 months from a presidential election, but also a lot of other offices up for election at the same time. I’m getting a crash course in politics, since I was asked to run for a seat in the state House of Representatives. 14 months seems like a long time, but when you realize everything that has to be done in that time, it’s not so long. And I wonder whether blogging will begin to play a bigger part in elections, since it’s an accessible platform and everyone seems to have a blog (whether or not it gets read).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I can think of many bloggers who would probably make good Presidents. But, they are all probably smart enough to NOT want to be President. 🙂 I am pretty cynical about politics as of late (I didn’t used to be this way, but I definitely am now). I think that our “public” has let themselves be lulled by media portrayals of people and situations and don’t bother to do much work in figuring out any complexities of a situation. I feel like, as a society, we are not very thoughtful or willing to consider multiple perspectives or willing to think critically and consider options. We want a quick answer to problems and a sound bite we can use in arguments. That’s it. Sad…and I hope I’m wrong, but like I said, I’m pretty cynical nowadays.

    Liked by 1 person

    • So I guess follow up question: as a type, do you think bloggers are quite that way? If not, do you think a blogger could get at least a solid enough vote or following to get some notice and attention?

      And I would add to your comment about us falling in for media portrayals of things – even more we seem to be thinking of politics in Facebook meme/share terms! Which, if we only like certain things, the Facebook algorithm will feed us more things we agree with – and fewer that we don’t! Which makes it even harder to consider multiple angles.

      Liked by 1 person

      • As a “type” I think most bloggers are a little more conscious of messages because of what they do. I also think they tend to be a little less dogmatic (as a type) because they meet/read so many different people through blogging. So, I do think there could be a number of them who would be pretty good candidates. But, again, I think most of them are smart enough NOT to want it. 🙂 And yes, the Facebook algorithm is a HUGE deal nowadays. I have family and friends who are constantly telling me they “unfriended” someone because they were posting something they disagreed with. I try to keep all of my friends intact despite disagreements solely because I think it makes me a better informed and more balanced person (well, that and I like to see pictures of them and their kids, etc.). So, sometimes I do have to shake my head at what comes across, but just as often I shake my head at those I agree with politically. Great discussion!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Yeah, the head shaking is absolutely on all sides – it seems like Facebook tends towards the extremes when it comes to the things people share.

          And I think you’re right on bloggers – we definitely run into a wide range of people online! Discerning – and maybe cynical!

          Liked by 1 person

  6. Well this is interesting.

    And I’m honestly not sure about what I’d do voting wise….Something to think about for sure!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. So, this went over well and stimulated an interesting discussion, eh?

    You’re right about the unpredictability of an election 14 months out, and about this having been an interesting year for people who’ve studied political science. And about it being a year for talking about issues.

    For my part, I think our campaign cycles are too long. I’d like them to start 12 months out.

    I expect the Democrats’ turnout to be low and the Republicans’ base to be out for blood in this next election. I don’t think Hillary winning is a given, and am not sure at all that what’s going on with the GOP at this moment is going to result in any serious fragmentation once the general election rolls around.

    And I think this next election is the most important since 2000, so all the foolery is a bit troubling.

    Haven’t decided yet whether or not I’m going to run a satirical campaign, but I’m seriously considering it.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't Feed the Trolls....

