Daily Archives: August 25, 2014

The Impossible Girl – A Character Study of Clara Oswin Oswald

I had said that I was planning on a character study of Clara, and I was thinking of getting it written before Series 8 started. However, I instead just went with a poll about favorite companions instead. That was very successful – but with all those votes and comments, not a lot of Clara love. Curiosity, but not a lot of love.

I’m glad I waited. Deep Breath, the first episode of Series 8, was very heavily a Clara episode, and I think it helps inform who she is, and who she is going to be. So spoilers later on, for Deep Breath. But before that, I’m going to work through the iterations of Clara leading up to that point.

If you’re finding this post in the future, it’s worth noting that this post was written at a very specific moment in time: right after the start of Series 8. So who knows, what I’m saying might all be changed or proven wrong in the episodes to come!

Continue reading