Daily Archives: August 4, 2014

The Incal – A Comics Review

The Incal - Classic Collection

I have finished reading The Incal! This graphic novel was a fascinating look into the heart of inspiration. I wrote a first impressions post about this comic. And my inspiration for reading it was the documentary Jodorowsky’s Dune. So with all of this thought I’ve put into it already… what more do I have to say?

I think the right approach is probably just a plain old review, going through the story a bit, and looking at it. One of the things I was really expecting was to see the echoes of a lot of other stories, hidden in its pages. However, as this series is about as old as I am, I think the end result is that it felt familiar, but did not point to anything in particular. I think this is partially because it – like Jodorowsky’s failed Dune – has been permeating any number of science fiction stories I have encountered in my life!

However, the two that I was most expecting to see – Dune itself, and The Fifth Element, which got into trouble (nearly) for being close to The Incal – I saw a whole bunch in the pages of The Incal. So I’ll go through these movements, explore a bit of my surprise at the ending… but first, let me take a minute with the story’s main character, John DiFool. Spoilers abound for the hard-to-find, expensive-to-buy, The Incal!

Continue reading

