Comics LitFlix 2014

In 2013 we had fun doing LitFlix, reading the books or comics that had to go with the movies. I’m going to continue that on into this year, with whole new offerings to go from!

Marvel has 4 movies alone; another way to look at it is there are two from Frank Miller, and two from Chris Claremont. They’re dipping back to the classic writers.

The ones that are part of a larger comic universe are harder to plan for: they have to work off of the content from the movies, as well as any comic inspiration. So, I’ll be putting together what I can for those, reading inspirations, and seeing what I can do!

I’ve got trailers to follow for the ones that have trailers, and, like last year, I’m listing what I have found for reading these materials – so you can read along too for the movies!

March 7 – 300: Rise of an Empire

I haven’t read 300, and there’s not a sequel to it, so I’m going to read this to compare! Should be interesting!

Reading: 300 by Frank Miller (Dark Horse App)

April 4 – Captain America: The Winter Soldier

I was surprised to find that Winter Soldier is a character less than a decade old! Also, I’ll bet there is a Prequel comic they’ll do, so I’ll probably read that too.

Reading: Captain America, Vol. 1: Winter Soldier Ultimate Collection by Ed Brubaker (Paperback, 304 pages)

May 1 – The Scribbler

This one looks interesting, but the details aren’t as firmed up, so we’ll see if it makes it to a theater near us! I will likely read the comic either way!

Reading: The Scribbler by Daniel Schaffer (Paperback, 96 pages)

May 2 – The Amazing Spider-Man 2

I’m not sure what to go with for this one, as they seem to be building their own, new stories, rather than basing it on the comics. I figure I’ll at least go back and read the first appearance of Electro and the Green Goblin! And we’ll see if any ideas come out sooner to release, or once we have more trailers!

Reading: Amazing Spider-Man #9 (First appearance of Electro) and Amazing Spider-Man #14 (First appearance of Green Goblin) by Stan Lee and Stan Ditko (Marvel Unlimited App)

May 23 – X-Men: Days of Future Past

Hey look, I already own this one! Actually, the first comics I went and bought when I got the Marvel App. Issue #139 is the first appearance of Kitty Pryde, and #141-142 is the main Days of Future Past storyline… so she goes right in the deep end!

Reading: Uncanny X-Men #139-142 by Chris Claremont (Marvel App)

July 25 – Hercules

Hercules by Steve MooreOne of a couple of Hercules movies this year, the one coming out later this year seems to be based on the comics by Steve Moore, so I’ll give that a look! And it’s Dwayne Johnson as Hercules, so that should be fun!

Reading: Hercules: The Thracian Wars and Hercules: The Knives of Kush by Steve Moore (ComiXology App)

August 1 – Guardians of the Galaxy

Guardians of the GalaxyThe lineup for this film is based on the recent team of Guardians of the Galaxy, from the comic series started in 2008. This whole run is on the Marvel Unlimited App, so I’ll give that a read! I’ve also read the Infinity Gauntlet, which may very well come into play!

Reading: Guardians of the Galaxy #1-25 by Andy Lanning and Dan Abnett (Marvel Unlimited App)

August 8 – Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

Teenage Mutant Ninja TurtlesThis may not entirely be based on these recent comics, but I am seeing some things that sound like it is, so I will give this a look. The staying power of these turtles is amazing, as I liked them as a kid. So we’ll see what this reboot does!

Reading: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles by Kevin Eastman (ComiXology App)

August 22 – Sin City: A Dame to Kill For

This one was supposed to come out this last year, so we’ll see. I have the first couple of Sin City graphic novels already, in preparation for that. Prepped and ready to go!

Reading: Sin City: The Hard Goodbye and Sin City: A Dame to Kill For by Frank Miller (Paperback)

November 7 – Big Hero 6

We’ll also see about this one, because I found info about it, but not confirmed yet. Also, I found what looks like Volume 2 of this comic on ComiXology, so we’ll see about that too. However, it sounds pretty fun, so hopefully that comes together this year!

Reading: Big Hero 6, Issue 1 by Chris Claremont and David Nakayama (ComiXology App)

Any you know about I should add, or recommendations to read the comics to go with the movies? Let me know in the comics below! Also, check out my favorites from the LitFlix of 2013!

Don't Feed the Trolls....

