What I’m Looking Forward to 2014

The new year has arrived 2013 has come and gone, now it is time for the year of 2014. There are a lot of things to look forward to in this coming year especially in terms of movies and video games. David did his post about what he is excited for about a week ago. The new year always brings exciting thoughts about summer blockbusters that are coming up. This year some of the biggest things I am looking forward to are movies. Some of the other things is honestly finding the time to read more books and play more games that I did not get to play. Finally I am always excited to hear about what is going to be coming up in 2015.

How to Train Your Dragon 2

How to Train Your Dragon was the worst advertised movie. I remember seeing those previews and having no interest, then I saw the movie. Oh my gosh it was fabulous. You have vikings and dragons, it’s amazing. The dragons are the cutest things ever and now we have a sequel. The preview looks amazing and they are definitely ramping it up.

X-Men: Days of Future Past

This is a bit of a no brainer, if this movie is not as good as it looks I will be very disappointed. The stinger at the end of Wolverine was priceless. It made me so much more excited to see this movie. The other reason I am excited is that I love James McAvoy and Michael Fassbender, them as Xavier and Magneto are brilliant.

Captain America: The Winter Soldier

YAY!!! Captain America!!!! The first Captain America movie was brilliant and amazingly well put together. Chris Evans did an amazing job as this character because Captain America is kind of a Paladin and as many of us know Paladins can be annoying. Now we have a new movie starring Captain America and it is during a time that people believe that doing the wrong things for, what they believe to be, the right reasons is okay. Captain America does not usually play like that and it will be interesting to see what becomes of him.

Guardians of the Galaxy

Guardians of the Galaxy

The thing I am looking forward to most in this movie is Groot because I love Vin Diesel. I read the Marvel Infinite comics of Guardians of the Galaxy and really enjoyed all the different characters. It is going to be interesting to see how this ties in with the larger Avengers story potentially. We seem to be leading towards the Infinity Gauntlet and the villain is supposedly Thanos, so it will be interesting to see where it leads us with the larger universe.

Final Fantasy XIII: Lightning’s Return

I have loved the Final Fantasy XIII and Final Fantasy XIII-2 games. The first one was a little bit slow to get going, but the story and the characters were great. Then we got the second one with time travel and that was incredible. The story they told tugged at the heart strings and examined the ripples that changing time can create. The next installment is adding a whole new layer to the story. Lightning has a limited time to save the world and as we are playing Lightning we have a limited time. It is going to be so hard for me because I am a treasure hunter, I search every corner, but there is going to be a sense of urgency to this game, which will be fascinating.

Dragon Age: Inquisition

The Dragon Age games have been brilliant and have built well off of each other. We have been waiting for the third installment sine the end of the second one. The way the story of the second one was told, was odd, but it seems to tie directly into the third one. It will be interesting to see how the choices from the first two influence what exactly is happening by Dragon Age: Inquisition.

Development News

Now every year this is exciting, but especially when there are new consoles out there is potential for new exciting game announcements. It will be interesting to see what games will be announced for the PS4 and Xbox One as time goes on. Right now it is the introductory games, but as the systems go on games get developed to push the envelope of the system. Some of the best games come out later in the life of the system.

PS3 Games

Now that we have a PS3 it is exciting because I get to play all the exclusives that we did not get to before. I already talked about the games I am looking forward to playing that are already out. There are also some games being rereleased in HD that I am looking forward to, such as, Final Fantasy X, Final Fantasy X-2, Kingdom Hearts 2.5, etc. Getting a PS3 late is similar to getting a new system because it still gives us new games we get to play.

Time to Read

Since, I am really bad on keeping up with books and comics. This means I end up with a huge collection that I want to find time to read and there just does not seem to be enough time in the day to do everything that I want to do. It will be good to find the time to read more and to try and dig in to the growing number of books that I want to read.

2 responses to “What I’m Looking Forward to 2014

  1. I must agree, if X-men does not do well both in the yes of the critics as well as mine I will be extremely disappointed. The cast of actors is unmatched both in their brilliance as well as skill, I hope that together their film come out on top.

    Like

  2. Pingback: What are we excited for in 2015? | Comparative Geeks

Don't Feed the Trolls....

