My Favorite Christmas Movies

Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer

It is that time of year where we deck the halls, wear funny sweaters, and try to spread good cheer. One of the other parts is usually watching your favorite movies, that you might not watch other times of the year because they are a Christmas movie. Some of these movies are ones that I have grown up watching others have come later, but all are ones that I love to watch during the holiday season. I do not necessarily own them all, but you can usually find most of them playing on some channel during December.

Rankin/Bass Stop Motion Animation Specials

Okay, so some are going to blame me for not getting specific enough, but the Rankin/Bass animated movies are fantastic; Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer, The Year Without a Santa Claus, Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town, Jack Frost, Rudolph’s Shiny New Year, and so much more. I have to say I think my favorite is The Year Without a Santa Claus partly because of the Miser brothers. Heat Miser and Snow Miser are hilarious and the song they sing is so funny. Every once in a while I will just think of the song when I am by myself and start singing. I grew up watching those movies. I even found a collection of all of them so I could watch them around Christmas.

A Christmas Carol

Again, this is one where there are so many different versions of this movie out there, all which follow the same story in a different way. Disney did a version where Scrooge McDuck plays Scrooge and Mickey is Bob Cratchit, it uses all your favorite Disney characters to play out the story. The other version that I love is of course the Muppets because who does not love the Muppets. Both of these versions bring such joy in to the Christmas season that you cannot help, but have fun.

Nightmare Before Christmas

How much do I love this movie… SO MUCH!!!! It is also great because you can watch it around Halloween or Christmas. It is a great way to celebrate Christmas, with a touch of the macabre. The part that I really like is when Jack Skellington ends up in Christmas town. His reaction is such a great reminder of the wonder and joy that Christmas is about. He then turns it in to a disaster because he does not really understand what is happening, but he tries so hard.

Love Actually

So recently I read an interesting look at this movie and I just don’t care. It is a movie that makes me feel good while I am watching it. I laugh at scenes and I love the idea of people going to ridiculous lengths for the people they care about. When I watch this I am reminded of the times when I am separated from the people that I love and then you see them again. The joy in that moment is so  overwhelming. It may not be the greatest movie ever, but I definitely enjoy it every time I watch.

Doctor Who Christmas Specials

So technically these are not movies, but they are fantastic. I mean who doesn’t love spending Christmas with the Doctor. They have done some great Christmas specials with a variety of stories. I really enjoyed the interpretation of A Christmas Carol and the Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, they just were great variations of well established stories. Sometimes the specials are completely outside the scope of the normal show and other times they introduce us to new characters. Looking forward to the next one and how they plan to say good bye to Matt Smith and introduce Peter Capaldi.

There are other Christmas movies, but these are the ones that I love to watch around Christmas. It is a great time of year to curl up with your loved ones, some hot cocoa and watch a fun movie.

One response to “My Favorite Christmas Movies

Don't Feed the Trolls....

