Things I Wish I Could Do

So, I have some talents, but when it comes to crafty projects there are a few things that I would love to be able to do or at least to be able to do better. Some of the greatest geeky things that you can find are things that people have made themselves. The problem is the skills you need in order to make said items are not always the easiest to learn. There are so many artists who create paintings, computer drawings, comics, etc that turn out as incredible prints or posters. Others sew t-shirts, purses, dresses, cosplay and all sorts of geeky items that work as practical outfits, in some cases. Then there are people who knit dolls, hats, scarves, etc, and make all sorts of fun and interesting items that express their meekness. Here is what I would love to do.

Knit

So, I have actually learned how to do the basics of knit and pearl stitch, which is the most important part. I have actually knitted a few scarves, but what I really want to do is try and expand to knitting hats and gloves. Particularly my next project after the current scarf I am working on is figuring out how to switch colors. The other piece that I want to do is figuring out how to make a shape that is not just a square. It takes time to learn and I am trying, but there are also so many other things I want to do as well.

Jewelry

Such as making my own jewelry. I love earrings. I especially love really funky earrings and wouldn’t it be awesome if I could make my own custom geeky earrings. It would be so much fun. Now this one is at one time the easiest thing to do, but at the same time it is finding the creativity for what you want to do. There are almost too many ideas to think of. At the same time to create your own jewelry with its own geeky flair would be so much fun and a great way to express your interest without just buying what everyone else has.

Sew

Finally, I want to learn to sew. My mom has given me her old sewing machine I just need to take the time to learn it. This one seems to be the steepest learning curve, but potentially the best reward. I often have trouble finding things that fit just right, but if I could make my own it would not matter. I could transform items and potentially create unique outfits. The biggest thing I would love to do is actually create bags. My husband can tell you I have a ton of purses and I love them all. I also end up with so many ideas for new things it is hard to choose.

There are other things that people do drawing, painting, etc, but these are the ones I would love to spend more time on. What are ways that you would like to or currently express your fandom?

2 responses to “Things I Wish I Could Do

  1. Sewing is something I definitely want to get better at, but I struggle with it almost every single time! Josh is way ahead of me and it’s tempting just to let him handle those projects. 🙂

    On the jewelry front, maybe polymer clay is something you should check out? It strike me as very much in your style, and doesn’t require much in terms of startup costs!

    Like

Don't Feed the Trolls....

