Nominated for a Liebster Award

Liebster-Award

Comparative Geeks has been nominated for a Liebster Award by LovePirate77. So at first I had no idea what the Liebster award was and I looked into it more the basic premise seems to be to try and connect new blogs and bloggers together. The big thing that it does is give kudos to some newer blogs and bloggers and lets them know that others of the community appreciate what they are doing. I will say one problem we found is that it was not the easiest thing to find 11 bloggers with less than 200 followers (we went with WordPress followers). Now the nice thing about this is that there are definitely some new blogs that we discovered by doing this experiment that we are excited to see more from!! And we are able to share some of the ones we have been following that we have already liked reading. So thank you again to LovePirate77 for the  nomination and here is our responses based on the rules below.

The rules for accepting the Liebster Award are as follows:

  1. List 11 facts about myself
  2. Nominate 11 bloggers for the award (YAY!)
  3. Let them know about the nomination
  4. Answer the 11 questions I was asked when nominated
  5. Ask 11 questions for the new award winners to answer.

11 Bloggers We Nominate (in No particular order)

  1.  Public Domain
  2. Simpleek
  3. We Minored in Film
  4. I’ll Make it Myself
  5. Feeling Blind
  6. Turn Based Living
  7. A Guide to Geekdom
  8. The Chindividual
  9. Digital Didascalia
  10. Comics Grinder
  11. Living the Geek Life

11 Facts About David and Holly

  1. We met while attending the University of Denver in Colorado because she was in the same Master’s program as his best friend.
  2. We decided to spend the normal rehearsal day for our wedding at Disneyland.
  3. We have become an Apple household. Computer, iPhone, iPad, Apple TV. We have bought in to the ecology of Apple products.
  4. A typical night will either be watching our favorite YouTube channels SourceFedNerd and Geek and Sundry or playing video games.
  5. We have two cats one named Shadow the other named Merlin whom we adopted and yes those were the names they had when we adopted them.
  6. One of the coolest things David and I have done in our travels is visit the Elephant Nature Park outside of Chiang Mai, Thailand where we got to feed, bathe, and play with elephants that had been rescued.
  7. Our favorite type of food is Indian.
  8. We can literally spend hours in a book store and our favorite bookstore is the Tattered Cover in Downtown Denver.
  9. Our most anticipated book currently is the third (and I believe final) installment of the Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss.
  10. Anytime we find Samuel Smith’s Organic Apricot Ale in the store we buy it because it is one of the greatest things ever.
  11. We currently live in Alaska, where being a geek helps pass the long winters! And Winter Is Coming…

11 Questions We Were Asked

  1. Do you play any musical instruments?  If so, what?  If not, what do you wish you could play?
    Holly – I play the Clarinet, more specifically the Alto Clarinet, although I have not found time to really get back into playing in years.
    David – I play the radio. If I could play one, the one I usually used to pretend was the drums… but I was usually drumming the guitar line, so I’ll go with guitar.
  2. Who is your favorite actor or actress and why?
    Holly – This is such a difficult question because I like different actors / actresses for different reasons and depending on what movies I have been watching lately that will change. Currently though, I am kind of in love with Vin Diesel. All the stories I have been reading about him on set have just sounded fantastic. I also love Riddick. That being said I have always loved Audrey and Katharine Hepburn.
    David – There are some really good actors just coming to prominence right now, and it’s an exciting time to be watching movies. I’m excited to see where careers for people like Karl Urban, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, and Katee Sackoff go. That said, I might have to go with Nathan Fillion. Although I saw Patrick Stewart live (one-man Christmas Carol), and it was amazing.
    Both: Also, Benedict Cumberbatch.
  3. If you could live anywhere, where would it be?
    Holly – Barring the whole getting a job and affordability I would say London, partly because it would be so easy to travel to various parts of Europe and you have access to museums and theatre.
    David – I basically got adopted by the English when I studied abroad there, but if I were going to live somewhere in UK, I would have to say Edinburgh.
  4. If you could go into space, would you?
    Holly – This really depends on how long I would be up there and the method of transport, but I might be willing to. It is such a rare opportunity to get to go.
    David – I would have to reference the Ludo song “In Space” – he always wanted to go there, but once he was there, he missed home. However, I might be up for heading out and colonizing! I think we need to be thinking about going to space, so I would support that however I needed to.
  5. What’s your favorite charitable organization?
    Holly – Currently my favorite charitable organization is Rotary. I personally know a lot Rotarians and Rotary International does such amazing work both locally and internationally. They get involved in their communities and try and help on a grander scale. Their goal of eradicating Polio is a big dream that is extremely close to becoming a reality.
    David – We recently got to hear the leader of World Vision talk, and something that really caught my attention is that they use Play as a measure of the health of a society. If children feel up for playing, and have the time and safety to do so, then a society has gotten to a decent place. They focus their efforts in places where this is not the case.
  6. What’s the first movie you remember that made you cry?
    Holly – Off the top of my head I really do not remember. I could probably figure it out, but as I have mentioned I will openly cry at movies and do so with moderate ease.
    David – I imagine I cried for some earlier movies, but I remember crying in a totally cliche way at the end of Titanic – the scene where they show all the dead characters again. The captain, and the architect, and stuff. Not Leo Dicaprio. I didn’t appreciate him as an actor until later.
  7. How many countries have you visited, if any?
    Holly – I have visited 12 countries and want to visit more. My favorite so far has been Australia and Russia. If you have a chance to go to Russia it is an amazing place, but as the news has shown recently it has a very dark underbelly.
    David – Nine or so. I’ve spent about six months around the British Isles, so that’s my favorite place.
  8. Here’s a cliche one: if you could have one superpower, what would it be?
    Holly – Teleportation because not having to fly somewhere would be amazing.
    David – Teleportation because Nightcrawler. Yes.
  9. What one cause are you most passionate about?
    Holly – Education is my big issue, not simply funding, but a total re-examination of how we educate and getting kids engaged in learning. As well as the increase of education in developing nations. It is amazing the statistics about how much can be effected by simply getting kids an education, particularly making sure that girls get an education.
    David – I feel like a geek I suppose saying so, but I would have to say it’s geeky things being taken seriously – especially like video games and science fiction. I believe firmly in Frank Herbert’s definition of science fiction, in that it is the only genre whose subject matter is what it means to be human. And video games being taken as art – visually I guess, but also in terms of storytelling. I did my history thesis on William Hogarth, who fought for his satirical prints to be considered art, and that really resonated with me.
  10. What book are you currently reading?
    Holly – I sometimes read more than one book at once. Currently I am reading Night Circus and Neuromancer.
    David – I have not really been book reading for several months, so the last books I was in the middle of were The Host and How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe. However, I have been reading a lot of comics in short times I steal between being busy, and I would most say I am reading Avengers and New Avengers by Jonathan Hickman.
  11. What Hogwarts house would you be in?
    Holly – Ravenclaw all the way and took the Pottermore test and it actually gave me the choice between Ravenclaw and Slytherin, definitely chose Ravenclaw.
    David – Hopefully Ravenclaw. I probably have Hufflepuff and Gryffindor tendencies. I say that, and then took the Pottermore test and it gave me Slytherin…

11 Questions for Nominees

  1. If you could live in one fictional universe which would it be and why?
  2. What movie do you wish more people would see?
  3. What book do you wish more people would read?
  4. What is a book, movie, tv show, comic, etc from your childhood that has stuck with you?
  5. If you were stranded on a deserted island, what three books would you want to have. Also, you already have the complete works of Shakespeare and the religious text of your choice.
  6. What are you most anticipating right now?
  7. Why did you start blogging? And what keeps you going?
  8. If you could have one technology exist now that doesn’t, what would it be and why?
  9. If you could vacation anywhere (anywhere), where would it be?
  10. Do you have any pets, and if so, what are they and what are they called? If you don’t, what would you want and what would you name it?
  11. What’s your favorite album? Or favorite band. Or both.
15 responses to “Nominated for a Liebster Award

  1. Thanks, guys! Much appreciated. (And expect some reciprocation, as I’ve got three awards I’ve been sitting on for a little too long to hand out . . .)

    Like

  2. Thanks for the nomination! I’ll be sure to address the questions on my blog soon.

    Like

  3. Thanks so much for the nomination! It’s really a fun process to go through. I’ve answered my questions, created new questions, and made my own nominations.

    Like

  4. Wow, thank you! Sorry it took so long to respond.

    Also, David as a Slytherin–I could see you as any of the other houses in one way or another. Or have you been holding out on us all along? 😉

    Like

  5. Pingback: Liebster Blog Award: One Year Later | simpleek

  6. Pingback: Internship: Done! Now what? | DBCII

  7. Pingback: Science Fiction versus Fantasy | Comparative Geeks

  8. Pingback: The Sunday Re-Blog – Science Fiction versus Fantasy | DBCII

  9. Pingback: 10 Great Things From Blogging This Year | DBCII

  10. Oh, nice! We have been sitting around in our “conference room” trying to figure out how you guys feel about awards. I am so glad you like them. I have a couple of award nominations to distribute in the next couple of months, and I will be giving you one.

    Like

  11. Pingback: Building a Blogging Community Through Social Media – With Examples | DBCII

  12. Pingback: Thanks for the Nominations | Comparative Geeks

  13. Pingback: Comparative Geeks

  14. Pingback: On Hugos, Puppies, and Remember that blog post I wrote… | Comparative Geeks

  15. Pingback: Throwback Thursday – Discrimination against Science Fiction and Fantasy – Comparative Geeks

Don't Feed the Trolls....

