Scenes that Choke You Up

Feel all the Feels!Recently on Tabletalk on Sourcefed Nerd there was a question about the movie that makes you cry. The hosts discuss a variety of movies that make them cry from Moulin Rouge to Big Daddy. Thus, it got me thinking about the fact that I have cried at a lot of movies. I admit it, I will get totally invested in a movie and when things happen that are sad I will cry. I have cried at many a movie, a book, a tv show, and a few video games. The scenes that I find particularly potent are ones that I tear up at in after the fact. These are scenes that I had such a visceral reaction to that just describing them again will get me choked up.

Be warned the following scenes might tear you up. It was even a bit hard for me to write about them. Also, these contain major spoilers so you have been warned.

Buffy the Vampire Slayer – The Body

So this episode overall is just hard to stomach. It is meant to be incredibly uncomfortable and hard to watch. The part that gets me every time and I can hardly think about without tearing up is the scene with Anya trying to understand what is happening. Anya went from being an immortal demon to being stuck as a mortal. She has caused death and destruction to others, but as an immortal she never really had to deal with it. She reminds me of a child who does not understand why mommy isn’t getting up, but she is an adult, so she gets yelled at. Her response is so heartbreaking, it just hits me hard.

“But I don’t understand! I don’t understand how this all happens. How we go through this. I mean, I knew her, and then she’s, there’s just a body, and I don’t understand why she just can’t get back in it and not be dead anymore! It’s stupid! It’s mortal and stupid! And, and Xander’s crying and not talking, and, and I was having fruit punch, and I thought, well Joyce will never have any more fruit punch, ever, and she’ll never have eggs, or yawn or brush her hair, not ever, and no one will explain to me why. ” – Anya, The Body

Serenity

There is so much in this movie that just makes me feel everything. I love the show and the movie just takes that to the next level. There are two scenes that really get to me and both involve River Tam. The part with Walsh killed me and the phrase “I’m a leaf on the wind” makes me sad, but I don’t tear up like I do with the scenes with River. One is when they have landed on the planet Miranda and we see what River has been holding in her brain. She begins to break down and she cries out for them to get up.

“Run-tse duh shang-dee, ching dai-wuhtzo… make them stop! They’re everywhere. Every city, every… every house, every room; they’re all inside me! I can hear them all and they’re saying… NOTHING! GET UP! Please, get up! Wuo-shang mayer, maysheen byen shr-to. Please God, make me a stone.” – River Tam, Serenity

The other scene that gets to me is when Simon has been shot and they are all waiting in the room with Reavers coming for them and the only way to close the doors is in the room with the Reavers. Simon’s kit is also in the other room and someone needs to leave the room to grab the medicine and close the door. River says the line looking at her brother, “You take care of me, Simon. You’ve always taken care of me. My turn”. Then she turns around and jumps in to the fray with Reavers throwing back the medicine and closing the door. At that moment we are not sure that River is going to survive and she runs out to save her brother. We later find out that she is a bad ass of bad asses who survives, but that moment is so beautiful.

Mass Effect 3

This game made me so mad. It had so much emotion and made me invested in the story, but I felt like the end pulled the rug out from underneath me. Barring all that I generally enjoyed playing while I was playing. The story was great and I was getting to see all the characters that I loved. The part that still gets to me is what happened to Mordin the Salarian scientist, in my playthrough at least. Mordin sacrifices himself to save the Krogan. Them showing him singing “I am the very model of a scientist Salarian” right before the platform blows up just killed me. I was sobbing when I watched that scene while playing and I cannot think about it without tearing up.

Doctor Who – Journey’s End

Doctor Who often makes me cry especially at the end of seasons, but there are other episodes that get me as well. The one ending that really gets to me those is Donna Noble. Donna was fabulous and brilliant, then it all gets taken away in an instance. She had these wonderful experiences and it is like they never happened. Her reaction when her memory has be erased is simply heartbreaking. Other endings are tragic, but what happens to Donna really is the worst.

“Rest of my life. Traveling. In the TARDIS. The Doctor Donna. Oh, my, I can’t go back. Don’t make me go back. Doctor, please! Please don’t make me go back.” – Donna Noble, Doctor Who

Final Fantasy XIII

So this game was not the greatest in terms of game play and how long they keep you on a single track. At the same time I loved the story and the characters. The characters were so good and I just fell in love with them. Then at the end of the game the most amazing thing happens, but it is also incredibly sad. Vanille and Fang were such amazing characters and they have already been through so much. Then they make a beautiful sacrifice to save Cocoon. It is such a beautiful moment, especially considering that they were the ones who had summoned Ragnarok so many years prior. Originally they had destroyed and this time they get to be the saviors. Then you see that the the image of them saving everyone is the logo for the entire game. It is a tragic and great moment all at the same time.

3 responses to “Scenes that Choke You Up

  1. River saying “My Turn” hits me like a semi-truck to the chest each and every time I watch Serenity. And “The Body” makes me dissolve into a blubbering mess. It’s exactly the moment you pointed out, when Anya is giving her speech/rant and her voice breaks at the end. Great list!

    Like

  2. All fantastic choices and a fun – well, maybe fun is the wrong word for it – article idea. Doctor Who quite frequently has me feeling verklempt. In addition to Donna’s goodbye, David Tennant’s regeneration scene usually gets me as does his final conversation as John Smith with Joan Redfern in “Human Nature”/”Family of Blood.” Quantum Leap has been known to get me on occasion, usually in “The Leap Home” but almost always with Al’s last scene with Beth in “M.I.A.”

    Like

Don't Feed the Trolls....

